Skip to content

Back to Training!

August 5, 2012

Okay.  I know it has been a while since I have posted.  Thanks Julie for keeping the blog updated for the past month (maybe longer).  I took a hiatus from writing and apparently training since Ironman Coeur d’alene.  I know haven’t posted a race report on it yet, but it will get high marks for being an incredible venue, city and crowd support.

Yes, since June 24, I have taking weeks off.  I have swam twice since June 24, one was in a sprint triathlon and the other was yesterday in an Olympic distance triathlon.  Haven’t ran much more, have spent some time cycling, but much of my endurance has left me.  Julie has been kicking my butt for a new training schedule and now that we are signed, sealed and delivered to the Miami Man in November I need to honor her request.  We put together an aggressive training schedule because as she mentioned last week we should be able to post a PR half.

I do however, have one race before Miami.  In a few weeks I am heading out to Des Moines once again for the Hy Vee Triathlon (a must do bucket list triathlon- or every year for me) and a  Labor Day favorite for me.

The race is rapidly approaching and I feel out of shape for it.  So the next three weeks will be intense so that I can have a respectable showing out there and hopefully retain my Clydesdale title in the 5150 series.  Yesterday, I decided to race a local olympic triathlon to see where my fitness level was (swam 26:30, biked 60:30- just missed an hour, one day I will break it, but ran 49:30).  Whoa baby, I have definitely fallen off the wagon in that category.  I should be running sub 7’s and instead posted close  to 8:10 miles yesterday (waiting on official results).  Mile 4 I think I even threw in a 9 minute mile.  I was 10th off the bike and got run down by 9 people finishing what was a horrible showing.  Labor Day weekend I vow to be better, I love the race course and am excited to visit Des Moines again.  Yeah, that is what I said- no misprint there.
Having two races on the books will help the focus and Julie kicking my butt  for schedules will keep me motivated (not to mention not wanting her to run her half marathon faster than me like she did at the Florida half).  So Julie, let’s go, Miami Man is waiting for us, just let me take care of business in Des Moines first!
One Comment leave one →
  1. August 5, 2012 11:42 pm

    Well since we are both running 1:30, sub 7’s wont be a problem. 🙂 Anyway, you are going to kill it in Des Moines!

Leave a Reply

