Skip to content

Birthday Bricks!

May 17, 2012

3 days.

Dear body, please be rested and fueled so that I can crush it on Sunday. Thank you, Julie

I started off taper week with a long overdue sports massage that left me feeling like I just did 700 squats and 500 pushups. Wow, that felt oddly great. Thank you to Rebound Massage Therapy in Beaverton, OR.  I’m not much of a stretcher, so there were some definite built up knots all over, and deep. This wasn’t no pansy Swedish massage. Dang! But for the first time in my life, when I got home that night I could not only touch my toes but put both my hands flat on the floor.

Taper Week:

  • Monday I put in a light 60 minutes cycle and put in a little time stretching (!) to keep the nice benefit of the massage going.
  • Tuesday was spent cramped in the window seat of the plane on the long flight from opposite corners of the US. Blah.
  • Wednesday Dan and I celebrated my 31st birthday with a short swim (1mi) and run (4.5 mi) brick. It felt great, especially after feeling super gross from traveling.
  • Thursday I am picking up my bike today! Wooooot! Dan and I are planning a bike/run brick. Not intense, but I need to get use to my bike and we need to keep the body moving, but not tire us out.
  • Friday and Saturday will be really light. We probably wont do any exercise on Friday and will do a super short (think 10-15) warm up on Saturday to keep body loose.
  • Sunday Swim Bike Run like crazy.

Right now I am just feeling pure excitement. It is so great to with my brother and my sister-in-law. I can’t wait to see my folks later in the week. I can’t wait to finally ride my new bike. I can’t wait to jump in the water on Sunday and move my body 70.3 miles to the finish line. I can’t wait for the Coronas afterward! I can’t wait to then plan the next race.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

