Skip to content

M.I.A

May 14, 2012

Yes…I have been MIA.  I always get on Julie for not posting well now it is time for me to take my medicine.  It has been weeks since I posted.  I know, slacker.  We are 13 days away from Ironman Florida 70.3 and I have been nowhere to be found.  I am still here, still training.

Baby steps.  I finally reserved our room for the trip, could I be any more last-minute?  Glad to say that we were able to score a 4 bedroom house with a screened in pool about 15 miles from the race site. Thanks www.regalpalms.com

I have been trying to stick to my training schedule the best I can, but that darn thing called career always seems to get in the way.  I wrote a longer post, but alas my computer wasn’t cooperating so I am keeping this short and sweet.

It is Finally race week, 6 days to be exact.  Julie comes tomorrow and we pick up her bike on Wednesday.  The time has finally come for us to race our first half together.  We have nerves for two separate reasons, Julie racing in her first half and me for trying to redline it and set a new PR for me.  The weather is supposed to cooperate with us being in the mid to low 80’s with humidity of course, but we can suffer through that.  Wind is the only x factor, might be up to 20 MPH.

I am feeling good leading up to the race because I had a great weekend of training.  Rode 70 miles on Saturday followed by 3.5 miles of sub 7:15 pace.  Sunday, I ran 14 miles at an 8:01 pace, felt great after the run and could have gone longer but no need to push it this week.  Yes, the 3 weeks after IMFL 70.3  are all focused on IMCDA.  Needless to say I am excited for my sister to get here, my mom and stepdad to fly down and just get down to racing.

More updates to come.  You can track us on race day at www.ironman.com race tracker

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 16, 2012 2:11 pm

    It feels so great to be here Dan! So excited to race with you on Sunday and see us accomplish our goals.

Leave a Reply

