Skip to content

Practice Race Prep

April 21, 2012

I just received my start time for tomorrow’s sprint tri.: 9AM. I am very anxious to see how the swim portion operates and what the race feels like with people starting at all different times. So today I am doing prep to get ready for the race. First making a list of things I need and running out to get what I need if I don’t have it. Also, just doing a mental walk through of the race and transitions so that I am not panicking tomorrow.

Tomorrow’s Race Day Packing List (sprint):

Apparel:

  • Tri Shorts
  • Swim Top
  • Bike/run top
  • Socks
  • Hat
  • Watch
  • Sunglasses

Swim:

  • Goggles (two pairs)

Bike:

  • Bike
  • Spare tire
  • Helmet
  • Pump (stand and compact)
  • Two water bottles
  • Gloves (possibly)

Run:

  • Running shoes

Other/Transition

  • Towel
  • Extra Water bottle
  • Nuun (electrolyte tabs)
  • Nutrition
  • Change of clothes (post race)

What else am I missing? This is not a complete list and packing lists should be developed to meet individual needs. But this is my starting list.

Because this is a pool swim, I obviously won’t be packing my wetsuit. Also, I will be racing with my non-race bike which only has cages so I will be wearing my sneakers during the bike portion.

So, I am not tapering for this race. Although, I sort of did because I am once again recovering from sickness. This is my second time being sick in one month and my body is exhausted. On Thursday I hit peak exhaustion and couldn’t physically do my 2Hr bike/25 min run, and instead rode the bike for 45 minutes then went to bed early. Good choice (although mentally I was beating myself up.) I benefited from the extra sleep and yesterday was able to bang out a solid 60 min swim and 55 min run and felt great. Today I will be doing a long bike ride (195min) if I can get myself motivated!! Tomorrow’s triathlon will be my workout.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 21, 2012 11:32 pm

    you only need one water bottle for a sprint. You could wear whatever you are swimming in throughout the entire race. Good luck tomorrow, you will be great! less than a month to IMFL 70.3!

Leave a Reply

