Skip to content

Albany Sprint Triathlon- Next Week? Why Not?

April 14, 2012

All proceeds go to benefit the Albany Aquatics swim team.

Its like a pop quiz in my training. Dan has suggested that I NOT make my 70.3 my first tri this season, but instead squeeze in a short race to get use to preparing for a race, practice my transitions, get a handle on my race-day nutrition, and just mentally prepare for racing. Sound advice. Finding a tri this time of the year in the NW isn’t easy to do. Race season doesn’t start till a little later in the year when the temps start to warm up and the rain finally decides to disappear for a bit.

I did, however, locate the Albany Sprint Triathlon and Duathlon in Albany OR, not too far from my location in Portland. This is a 750m swim, 12.4 mile bike, and 3.1 mile run (duathlon is run 3.1 miles, bike 12.4 miles, and 3.1 miles).

The one thing that makes me a little anxious is that this is a pool swim. I don’t like swimming with other people in a lane (it prevents me from focusing on my own workout…yes, I need to get over it AND I still don’t know how to do a flip turn…I know, I need to just do it.) In this race I don’t want to worry about wanting to pass people or more likely, being passed in a lane. Any advice for the pool swim during a race?

Ok, time to go get my bike ready.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 15, 2012 12:41 am

    Yes, swim faster and elbows are a good resource, HA. Kidding of course. I would give the same advice I give to others when worried about other people passing them. Forget them. You need to race your own race, just because someone may pass you in the pool does not mean that you cannot catch them somewhere else. You cannot get wrapped up into racing someone else’s race. That is one of the most common mistakes for newbie triathletes, heck even experienced triathletes. Focus on your task at hand, which is smooth efficient strokes in the pool. Remember, this race isn’t meant for you to win, it is to get your feet wet again in racing. After all, you have only done one other. These are things I would focus on:
    1. Smooth, efficient swim strokes
    2. clean transition – set everything up efficiently so you can quickly go from swim gear to bike gear
    3. ride- figure out gears where you can turn a cadence between 80-100. You don’t want to be in too big a gear where you are building lactic acid before the run.
    4. Figure out what you are drinking, when etc. You don’t need to eat food during a sprint, but fluids will be needed.
    5. quick transition from T2-run – I have gotten this down to about 35-40 seconds- still not as fast as some
    6. Run hard- figure out what your legs will feel like. You have been putting in the time, so you should be able to run hard from the get go. At IMFL, you should start off about 30-45 seconds slower than you are going to run on the first mile.

    Hope that helps. You will be great.

Leave a Reply

