Skip to content

6 Weeks And Counting…Fast

April 10, 2012

Where the hell have I been? Not blogging. Dan, rightfully so, gave me a good ol sibling bashing and 20 minutes later I find myself here online trying to redeem myself.

We just passed the 6 week mark towards preparing for the IM 70.3 Haines City. I am a little terrified. I keep going through these up and downs in my training, feeling one day that I am definitely not prepared to days like yesterday when I cranked out a 12.5 mile run no problem and should have kept going if only I had more fuel to intake. To think that about a year ago I was struggling to train for my first half marathon.

So what have my training weeks been looking like? Dan provided me a great training schedule a while back that I have been sticking to pretty well. I try to keep to this schedule fairly tightly, mostly out of fear because I really don’t know what to expect come race day. There are days when I can only do a partial workout or throw in something different and I use to be really hard on myself about it. But I think I have lightened up.

Here is my last week:

  • Monday: OFF (I love my rest days and I have really learned how to really honor these)
  • Tuesday: Bike 90 min (speed) I am still doing most of my bike workouts on the spinner, not ideal because I am not getting road experience, however I can control my workouts better.
  • Wednesday: Swim 55 min, Run 55 min (20 WU 3×5 @race pace, 20 tempo). I ran this on the treadmill to control speed, 20 min @ 6.5mph, 5 min @ 7mph, 2.5 min @6.5mph, 5 min @ 7.5mph, 2.5 min @6.5 mph, 5 min @  8 mph, 15 min @7 mph.
  • Thursday: Bike 120 min (30 steady, 60 faster, 30 steady)
  • Friday: Run 50 min (approx. 6 mile), Swim 60 min. Ideally I would run after swimming but some days it is tricky, especially trying to find when the pool isn’t crowded. Here I ran before my swim.
  • Saturday: Bike 195 min
  • Sunday: Run 105 min w/hills. (I should have had a swim workout today but forgot that it was Easter and the gym closed before I could make it….arg!!!)

Lately I have had this reoccurring nightmare where it is race day and I am late and I can not make it to the start for random reasons or obstacles. I guess it is like that popular dream where people can’t seem to make their academic classes. Anyone else have nightmares like this or what are your fears for race day?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

