Skip to content

I’m Registered. Holy F.

February 29, 2012

I know I have been away for a really long time. Ok, a really really long time. So long I had forgotten how to login to WordPress. I have been so occupied with moving, leaving a job, finding a job, traveling for odd jobs, that I haven’t had a chance to really focus on triathlons. That is NOT to say I haven’t been working out, just been squeezing workouts in when I can and hoping that I am keeping up on my schedule. Which, I have a feeling is what a lot of working triathletes have to do.

This week, however, I finally registered for my first IM 70.3 at Haines City, FL.

Bike Course | Ironman 70.3 Florida

And I am scared sh*tless. Will I be ready? Will I die?

So now I have a ton of questions and somehow I ended up getting really overwhelmed by all this. It didn’t help that yesterday I signed up for a new gym (yes, another new gym), because I am relocating to a new city: Portland OR! Then the overly eager sales guy wanted to share everything he thought I should be doing and all it did was make feel like I am off track.

Anyway, my question for today: Is it ok to split workouts in a day or should my workouts be one big chunk? For instance is it ok for me to swim in the AM and then run in the evening, or should I just get up earlier and do both of them in the AM?

Many more questions to come…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 10:06 pm

    Whoo hoo! Welcome to 70.3 training! Yes, definitely ok to split workouts. I split mine all the time… can’t quite manage to get out of bed early enough to fit it all in the mornings. So far coach hasn’t said anything about it. She’ll usually specify if I need to do them at the same time (ie. run/bike/run combo). Funny, I just wrote about this yesterday….

    • February 29, 2012 10:13 pm

      Jennifer, thank you so much for the response! Phew. Ok, not that I really want to go to the gym twice a day, but sometimes setting aside one big chunk of time can be challenging! I have so many questions rattling around in my brain and will be posting more, so please keep writing in.

  2. March 1, 2012 1:49 am

    During the week it is okay to split workouts, but I highly recommend that on weekends (or whenever you have time-like now till you start your new job), you do your bricks all at one time. and remember I wrote your schedule so I know what you should be doing, HA. The biggest thing for new triathletes to get accustomed to is the feeling your legs have when they get off the bike. And I know the biggest thing for you is to pace yourself. You are not going to be able to go all out for the entire race. Chris McCormack says that you never want to feel like you are racing till the last 1/3 of the race. I love the words of Craig Alexander, “you don’t want to spend all your pennies on the bike.” I am so pumped to race with you in a few months. By the way so nice to finally have you back in blogging world, about Freaking time.

    • March 1, 2012 4:44 pm

      Yea, sorry I have been gone so long. Julie’s got her groove back, well shortly. I think it has been challenging for me to keep traveling and keep any kind of routine. With new gyms and new locations it takes a lot to figure out good routes to run, know when the pool isn’t jammed, what spin classes work with my schedule etc. Soon, I will have that figured out. I think for the most part I have keep my brick workouts together, but I just wanted to make sure that I wasn’t being unproductive if I broke them up.

Leave a Reply

