Skip to content

Training While Traveling

January 29, 2012

For the past ten days I have been traveling: from MA to WA to OR to WA to OR and it isn’t stopping yet. I am out west again interviewing for jobs, visiting friends, and doing some freelance work. Man, I miss my routine. I have been completely thrown off my schedule and my focus is definitely started to be tested. Prior to my trip I was really getting in a great daily routine of working out in the morning, settling into a new gym, and knowing what running routes I like around me. When you travel that gets thrown off!

I have done my best to plan ahead what days I can fit in workouts, but finding where I can do them has been the challenge. Being in Seattle, I know there are several great public pools that offer lap swimming. The limitation is the times offered, and the frustrating thing is getting in at a lap time then sharing a lane with 3 other people. That makes it really hard to focus on your own speed and drills.

I also was able to snag a guest pass at LA Fitness Club in Ballard WA which covered me for a few days while I was here. The bonus here was the location and the pool, which I never had an issue with being too crowded. There is definitely a learning curve going to a new gym: what classes are offered, where the right weights are, what spaces are good for doing cross training and plyo, and where to find the treadmills with no tvs (ug, I get sick watching tv while running). I have been really digging the Nike Club Training app, but I found no good place to do those exercises at this gym, which led me to feel a little unfocused at the gym. Somedays I felt like I was wandering around more than actually working out.

This photo was taken the day before our hike from another climber.

My training hasn’t been focused, but I also haven’t been slacking. In addition to some weight training, I have fit in a day of plyometric training from p90X, a good run around Greenlake (I have missed this place), a 3 RT hike up Mailbox Peak outside Seattle (a 3,800 elevation gain in 2.5 miles!), and several swims.

What do you do to stay focused on your training while traveling?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

