Skip to content

Phone Apps for Triathletes

December 28, 2011

Before we get into the app section, in honor of Julie I went to the pool tonight and swam.  My legs were still a little sore from my run yesterday (10 miles, 68 minutes) so the pool was calling my name.  Here is a brief look at my swim workout:

250 – warm up

1000

200

8 x 100 – speed work with 20 seconds rest between sets

8 x 50 – speed work with 20 seconds rest between sets

400

600

100 – cool down

Total: 3,750

Felt good swimming.  One thing I have been working on is extending my arms out on each stroke and pulling harder underwater to help propel me farther with each stroke.  I always try to make it the length of the pool in less than 18 strokes ( I know when I am tired because I will be 20-21).

I also tried a new pair of goggles (Aqua Sphere Kaiman).  I bought these goggles because I left my last pair at the pool- never to be seen again and because I guess I have unique eye sockets (or different from most).  Goggles stick to my right eye fine, but for some reason my left eye always leaks water because I can never get the suction correct over the socket.  I have tried the speed socket goggles and over-sized goggles and nothing really seemed to work.  So last year I bought the Aqua Sphere XP tinted mask.  This way I didn’t have to worry about each eye piece leaking and this gives you a great 180 degree view- this is what I race in.  So yesterday, yes I fought the post holiday traffic, to go to Sports Authority and purchase the Kaiman goggles.  I ended up purchasing the Ladies version because they seem to fit my better.  Worked great at the pool tonight and I recommend the Aqua Sphere line to anyone in the market for new goggles.

Apps

I am not a tech junkie like some triathletes are, but I found this link on Lava Magazine’s website and thought I would pass it along.  There are many triathletes who try to decipher which apps are the best for their training.

I am personally still vested in the Garmin, but every athlete is different and if you do not want to purchase the expensive watches that track these for you, this is a relatively economical way to do so.

Which Ironman is for you?

A friend sent me this link for trying to decipher which Ironman course best suits your body type.  Obviously this is not an exact science and is  based upon elite athletes.  For me, I think undertaking any Ironman is difficult.  I love when people say, ” I would never do St. George or Louisville because they are “Harder” Ironman’s”.  Really?  I laugh because although they may have more climbing or be hotter than some venues- it is called Ironman for a reason.  It is supposed to be hard.  It is supposed to test your endurance, will and mental fortitude.  That is why when you hear those magical words as you cross the finish line you become part of a very elite fraternity.

http://www.endurancecorner.com/Alan_Couzens/course_body_type3

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2011 12:09 am

    Jeezy creezy. Here I was proud of myself for swimming 2700 yards and then you go and blow by that with 3700. And I am sure to a pro, 2700 is just an easy warm up. Ahhh, time to get back in the pool.

    • December 29, 2011 3:37 am

      You went from never swimming to swimming 2700 at a good clip. You should be proud of the strides you have made in the past year. You are already swimming longer than the required distance for a half.

  2. January 3, 2012 12:05 am

    Yea, but I want to keep up with you.

Leave a Reply

