Skip to content

2012 Started Early

December 20, 2011

I’m a big fan of New Year’s Resolutions. I almost find it as a self-pruning time: it is a reflection time to decide what to cut back, let what you like to grow, and set intentions for the upcoming year. A lot can happen in a year, and that is exciting! Anyway, Ironman New Orleans is 4 months away! And that is a kick in the pants.

As popular it is to set resolutions, its also unintentionally popular to not follow through. Setting goals is important, especially when training. Having a target race in mind, keeps workouts intentional, keeps you motivated, and helps remain focused…plus if you already paid for the race, you have to do it, cause that would be a waste of money and you wouldn’t want to have to tell friends and family that you are now NOT doing the race cause you got lazy. Here is an article about the importance of both long term and short term goals.

[By the way, might I add, I found it odd to find a list of popular new year’s resolutions on USA.gov site. Hope the government is also taking note: better education, better jobs, manage debt, reduce, reuse, and recycle, save money. I think they could benefit from these too. Course, maybe they can’t stick them either. Anyway, this post isn’t a political post.]

Ok, so I am not waiting for 2012 to come around. 2011 wasn’t my best year and I am ready to jump into 2012, and I am already pretending Christmas is over, the same way that retail stores pretty much ignore Thanksgiving and jump straight into the Christmas season. So don’t wait till January 1st- your body doesn’t know the difference.

Here was my workout today:

  • 5 min warm-up rowing
  • 20 min Core Synergistics from P90x (selected exercises)
  • 2000 yrds swimming (Approx 45 min swim)
  • 2 mile run (8:30 pace)

    Workout-in-a-bag

Dan recommended writing my workout down before I get into the pool. This helps me keep track of what I am doing, because as I previously mentioned, can’t count while swimming. He had a great idea to put this workout in a ziplock plastic bag to prevent it from getting wet. It’s a workout-in-a-bag…what a great tip!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

