Skip to content

Salt Water Pools Taste Better

December 17, 2011

Ok, I would never condone drinking pool water. Ick, but I mean, if some just happened to get in your mouth, salt water pools aren’t so bad.

I finally caved in the other day and signed up for a gym membership for the winter. As the temperatures are starting to drop and daylight is short, I realized I needed a place to keep my motivation going. Especially with IMNO coming up in a few short months! Anyway, when I jumped in the pool at Latitudes, what a pleasant surprise to not feel like I jumped into a chlorine dip. And the biggest bonus- I didn’t sneeze once after I left! (Side note: seems like a lot of people had similar sneezing experiences like mine: Forum, Forum 2, Forum 3, Forum 4)

After swimming I was curious to what the difference between salt-water and chlorine pools were. And are salt water pools actually healthier or do they just feel that way?

First thing I learned is that salt-water pools are not chlorine free, but use chlorine generator instead of direct addition of the chemical. The system uses electrolysis to break down salt to create hypochlorous acid (HCIO), and sodium hypochlorite (NaClO), which are the sanitizing agents (more on wikipedia) and has an identical structure as purchased chlorine. This electrolysis occurs constantly and avoids the periodic dumping of chlorine.

Chloramines are what make chlorine pools so irritating to the body and stinky. The electrolysis in salt water pools breaks down chloramines, and therefore removes more of the irritation and offensive smell. This article highlights the dangers of over-chlorinated pools on the human body. According to Planet Green, salt water pools are healthier for the body and additionally healthier for the environment.

While Spectralight, maker pool systems, claims there is no taste or smell difference between a well maintained chlorine and salt-water pools, I will trust my own body and know which one I prefer.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2011 7:54 am

    hi siblingtrivalry.wordpress.com-ers merry xmas to you all – matty

    • December 26, 2011 11:02 pm

      Merry Christmas to you as well. I hope the new year brings you success and new PR’s!

  2. January 8, 2012 5:38 pm

    Great blog! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am taking your feeds also

  3. January 10, 2012 7:20 pm

    I wanted to check up and let you know how considerably I cherished discovering your web site today. We would consider it a honor to do things at my place of work and be able to utilize tips provided on your web page and also be involved in visitors’ feedback like this. Should a position of guest writer become on offer at your end, i highly recommend you let me know.

    • January 14, 2012 2:23 am

      We do not have a position open right now for guest writer, but you are welcome to comment on any posts that you find interesting or that you have some experience with. We want this blog to be an interactive forum for individuals to share their own personal stories and inspire people to reach goals they never thought possible. We look forward to seeing more comments from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

