Skip to content

Julie’s 2011 Review and 2012 Goals

December 9, 2011

It’s December, which means its time for peanut butter balls (thanks Mom!), elastic waist bands, a little reflection, and some goal setting for the upcoming year.

In 2011, I set out to conquer my first half marathon which at the time seemed like a ridiculous use of my time. Well, I not only checked that off the list, but completed three others within 6 months and knocked off 26:37 min off my time. Woot! At the beginning of the year, I also noted that I wanted to attempt my first triathlon which definitely seemed like unlikely happening, since I didn’t own a bike and hadn’t swam in years. I guess sometimes you have to set goals even if you have no idea how you will actually get there. And yes Dan, after completing my first sprint tri, I was hooked.

So here are my 2012 goals:

  • Upgrade my bike: Specialized Tarmac
  • 1:45 Half Marathon time
  • Figure out my race day nutrition (no race puking allowed in 2012)
  • Complete an Olympic distance tri (race TBD)
  • Complete Ironman New Orleans 70.3

Phew! I better start training tomorrow!

Here is me at Open Road Bicycles in Jacksonville FL next to my little Specialized Tarmac dream.

Dan lost a bet and had to give me a dollar towards my bike fund. Every dollar helps.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

